Marysville Native Mike Hammett Wins Oscar Stauffer Sportscaster Award

Presented annually by the Kansas State High School Activities Association, the Oscar Stauffer Awards recognize excellence in the fields of sports broadcasting and sports writing, and acknowledge meritorious service through coverage of interscholastic sports programs in Kansas. Sportscaster award applicants submit play-by-play tapes for evaluation. The Kansas Association of Broadcasters selects the honoree. Sportswriter nominations are submitted by the high schools of Kansas and the selection is made by a committee of the Kansas Coaches Association.

The 2011 Oscar Stauffer Sportscaster of the Year award winner is Mike Hammett, assistant director of news and sports for KAYS Eagle Radio in Hays. A native of Marysville, Kansas, Hammett graduated from Marysville High School in 2004. While in high school Hammett became interested in broadcasting and communications professions. Hammett attended Fort Hays State University and in 2008 earned a B.A. in Communication Studies in addition to a B.A. degree in Information Networking and Telecommunications.

Hammett’s play by play career began in his hometown of Marysville where he was responsible for production and play by play of Marysville High School football games during the 2006 and 2007 seasons. From 2005 through 2007, Hammett broadcast play by play action for the Marysville American Legion Post 163 baseball team in zone and state tournaments. Mr. Hammett joined Eagle Radio in Hays, Kansas in June of 2008 and continues there today in the capacity of Assistant Director for news and sports. His duties include play by play broadcast of Thomas More Prep-Marian High School games and Hays High School baseball and softball contests. In the summer, Hammett is the play by play voice of the Hays Larks baseball team. During the college football season, Hammett is the sideline reporter for Fort Hays State University football broadcasts. In addition to his on the air responsibilities, Hammett maintains websites for Hays area high school sports and the Hays Larks baseball club.

The 2011 Oscar Stauffer Sportswriter of the Year award winner is Mr. Mark Dewar, of the Johnson County Sun.

A native of the Kansas City area, Mark Dewar graduated with honors from Kansas City Christian High School in 1985, as president of his senior class. Dewar played varsity baseball and basketball during his high school years in addition to playing competitive tennis in the Missouri Valley junior circuit, earning a college tennis scholarship as well as an academic scholarship to UMKC. As a Dean’s List scholar, Dewar graduated from the University of Missouri – Kansas City in 1989 with a degree in mass communications.

Mark Dewar’s interest in sports journalism began when he was in high school, where he served as staff writer and editor for his high school newspaper. During his collegiate years, he contributed sports articles to the UMKC student newspaper while serving on the staff of the University News. Dewar began his professional career with the Johnson County Sun in 1989, when he was employed as a part time stringer for the paper. Dewar served as sports editor for the Atchison Daily Globe for two years before joining the staff of the Johnson County Sun full time, as the assistant sports editor. In 1995 Mr. Dewar was promoted to the job of sports editor for the Sun. Last December, Dewar celebrated his sixteenth anniversary with the paper. In marking that milestone, Dewar commented, “I feel very blessed to continue to enjoy the opportunity to cover and report on the Johnson County sports community, our wonderful citizens and the area’s high schools.”