The Kansas Senate has overwhelmingly approved a bill that would lessen penalties for first and second-time marijuana possession.
The vote Wednesday was 38-1.
The measure would reduce the maximum punishment for first-time misdemeanor possession to six months in jail and a $1,000 fine, rather than the current maximum sentence of a year in jail and $2,500 fine. A second possession conviction would no longer be a felony, so an offender wouldn’t be sent to prison.
The measure goes next to the House, which passed a similar proposal last year.
The lone vote against the bill came from Democratic Sen. David Haley, of Kansas City.
He proposed imposing only a $50 fine for the first, second and third time a person is caught possessing small amounts of marijuana. The Senate voted 31-5 against Haley’s amendment.