Primary Election Day Tuesday; Local & State Races Contested

The Primary Election is Tuesday, polling locations will be open 7 a.m. – 7 p.m. Registered voters must have a valid photo ID.

In Marshall County, polling sites are the Marysville American Legion, St. Malachys in Beattie, the Axtell American Legion, Cigna Center in Frankfort, Summerfield Community Center, and Valley Heights High School.

Contested party races on the ballot include Marshall County Commissioner District 2, as Republican David Baier challenges incumbent Tom Holle, and District 3 with Republicans Kenny Feldhausen facing Lynn Feldhausen, and Democrats Pat Caffrey facing Dennis Miller. Allison Slifer filed as an incumbent, and will not be on the primary ballot. Other Marshall County offices were uncontested, and will also move to the General Election in November.

In Washington County, polling locations include the Washington County Courthouse, Kloppenberg Center in Hanover, Haddam and Linn City Halls, and the Barnes school gym.
For Washington County Commissioner District 2, Republicans Dave Willbrandt and David L’Ecuyer will challenge incumbent Roger Otott, and in District 3 Bill Slater and Ron Wurtz will challenge incumbent Gary Oulette. Diana Svanda will face incumbent Republican Danae Jueneman for County Clerk. Other Washington County offices were uncontested, and will move to the General Election ballot.

Beth Owens will be listed on the Democratic ticket versus Todd Frye, although Owens has endorsed Frye for Kansas House 106th District. For Kansas First District U.S. House of Representatives, Roger Marshall will challenge incumbent Tim Huelskamp on the Republican ticket. For United States Senate, DJ Smith will challenge Jerry Moran for the Republicans, and Monique Singh will face Patrick Wiesner for the Democrats.

KNDY will air election coverage Tuesday evening, twice each hour beginning at 9 on FM 95.5 and AM 1570/FM 94.1.