UPDATE: CANCELLED – Tornado Watch Issued For NE Kansas & SE Nebraska Until 7 PM (5/17/17)


The National Weather Service has issued a TORNADO WATCH for parts of our coverage area until 7:00 p.m. this evening. Counties included in the Tornado Watch include: Marshall, Nemaha, Washington, Pottawatomie in Kansas, as well as Johnson, Gage and Pawnee counties in Nebraska. This includes the cities of: Marysville, Washington, Seneca, Sabetha, Beatrice, Hanover, Blue Rapids, Waterville, Axtell, Summerfield, Wymore, Pawnee City, Fairbury.

A tornado watch is issued when weather conditions are favorable for the development of severe thunderstorms called a Supercell that are capable of producing tornadoes. A tornado watch therefore implies that it is also a severe thunderstorm watch. A tornado watch must not be confused with a tornado warning. In most cases, the potential exists for large hail and/or damaging winds in addition to tornadoes.

A watch does not mean that the severe weather is actually occurring, only that atmospheric conditions have created a significant risk for it. If severe weather actually does occur, a tornado warning or severe thunderstorm warning would then be issued. Note that a watch is not required for a warning to be issued; tornado warnings are occasionally issued when a tornado watch is not active (i.e. when a severe thunderstorm watch is active, or when no watches are in effect), if a severe thunderstorm develops and has a confirmed tornado or strong rotation.



Previous articleWashington County Commission Meeting Minutes – May 15, 2017
Next articleBeloit City Council – May 16, 2017

Derek Nester was born and raised in Blue Rapids, and graduated from Valley Heights High School in May of 2000. He attended Cowley College in Arkansas City and Johnson County Community College in Overland Park studying Journalism & Media Communication. After stops at KFRM and KCLY radio in Clay Center, he joined KNDY in 2002 as a board operator and play by play announcer. Derek is now responsible for the digital content of Dierking Communications, Inc. six radio stations. In 2005 Derek joined the staff of KCFX radio in Kansas City as a production coordinator for the Kansas City Chiefs Radio Network, which airs on over 70 radio stations across 12 Midwest states and growing.